World Cup 2019: 5 Great Players who will miss the fans this time

There is no doubt that the World Cup is more popular than all other tournaments in the world and is well-loved by fans. This year, all the World Cup matches will be played in England and Wales, starting from May 30.

This is the 12th season of the World Cup which will be played in 11 international grounds including Lord’s. The world’s top 10 teams will participate in this tournament. This tournament will be played in the round robin format in which all the teams will play each other in one match. The best performing 4 teams will enter the semi-finals.

There are many such legendary players in this year’s World Cup which had performed better for their team in the previous edition but they are not part of their team this year. The reason for this is that many players have retired from international cricket. Today we are going to tell you about 5 great players who will be remembered in this year’s World Cup.

#5. Michael Clarke (Australia):

Michael Clarke is the fourth captain to get Australia’s World Cup title. Earlier, under the leadership of Allan Border, Steve Waugh and Ricky Ponting, the Australian team won the World Cup title.

Michael Clarke scored 7891 runs in Australia’s 245 ODIs. Centurion batsman Clarke used to bowl, in which he took 57 wickets. Clarke has participated in the World Cup three times (2007, 2011 and 2015) in which he has played 25 matches in total and has scored 888 runs at an average of 63.

Michael Clarke played his last international match in England in the Ashes series against England in 2015. In this World Cup, Australian fences will definitely feel their shortcomings.

#4. Mahela Jayawardene (Sri Lanka):

Mahela Jayawardene has played 448 ODIs from Sri Lanka, in which he scored 12350 runs at an average of 33.37, including 19 centuries and 77 half-centuries.

Apart from this, he has participated in 40 matches in World Cup history, in which he scored 1100 runs at an average of 35.48, including 4 centuries and 4 half-centuries. Jayawardene has participated in all 5 World Cup editions from 1999 to 2015.

#3 Kumar Sangakkara (Sri Lanka):

The Sri Lankan team reached the World Cup final in 2011 under the leadership of Kumar Sangakkara. Even after defeating India, he smiled and won the hearts of all cricket fans.

Sangakkara retired after losing the World Cup 2015 semi-finals. Sangakkara has scored 14234 runs in 380 innings of 404 ODIs at an average of 41.98. He also hunted 501 (402 catches and 99 stumpings) while doing wicketkeeping. Sangakkara has scored 1532 runs in 35 matches in 37 matches at an average of 56.74.

#2. Brendon McCullum (New Zealand):

The performance of the New Zealand national cricket team in the knockout matches of the World Cup is extremely poor. But Brendon McCullum-led Kiwi team made it to the World Cup final for the first time in history by defeating South Africa in the semi-finals of World Cup 2015.

Wicketkeeper Brendon McCullum has scored 6083 runs from 260 matches at an average of 30.41 representing New Zealand. He has hunted 277 (262 catches and 15 stumpings) behind the wicket. He has participated in 34 matches from 2003 to 2015, in which he scored 742 runs at an average of 33.72. No one can fill their place in the New Zealand cricket team. Fans of New Zealand will miss him this season very much.

#1. AB De Villiers (South Africa):

The former South African wicketkeeper batsman, named after Mr. 360, retired from international cricket last year. He has played 228 one-dayers in his career and has scored 9577 runs at an average of 53.50 with 25 centuries and 53 half-centuries. He sent the pavilion to wicket-keeper batsman 181 (176 catches and 5 stumpings) to the batsmen.

Apart from this, AB de Villiers has scored 1207 runs in 23 matches at an average of 63.52 with 4 centuries and 6 half-centuries.

AB de Villiers, not playing in this World Cup will disappoint the fans of South Africa but not all cricket fans.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

WP Twitter Auto Publish Powered By :